This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
SRH vs RPS, Match 40, IPL 9: Zampa's six-wicket haul; Ashwin's promotion and Dhoni's run-out – three talking points

New Delhi: David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their good run in the Indian Premier League, as they edged past Rising Pune Supergiants with a four-run win in Match 40.

It was a do-or-die game for MS Dhoni and his men and they are now out of the race for the play-offs.

Here are some of the most talked about points from the match:

Adam Zampa's six-wicket haul:

He is no Shane Warne, but with the pitch assisting spinners, Mahendra Singh Dhoni definitely made him look like a world-class bowler during the match. Whenever Zampa was hit for a Six, Dhoni would walk upto the youngster to convey his advice. It certainly worked as Zamba returned with the second best figures (6/19) in IPL history.

Ashwin's promotion

Dhoni is not new when it comes to baffling the cricket pundits with his decisions. In a crucial match, having lost top two batsmen with just 19 runs on board, the spectators couldn't believe their eyes as R Ashwin walked to the crease. Dhoni promoted the Chennai off-spinner, who is known to hold wicket from one end, ahead of Saurabh Tiwary, Thisara Perera and himself. While Ashwin did score 29 runs off 25 balls, it was again one move, which only Dhoni could have taken as a skipper.

Yuvi's run-out of Dhoni

Usually when it comes to nail-biting moments in the final over of an innings, there is no better batsman than Dhoni. But as RPS needed 14 runs to win off the final over, it was a rare failure from Dhoni, who was run-out off the penultimate ball of the innings by Yuvraj Singh. He had hit a six off the previous ball and looked all set to seal another match, before attempting a suicidal second run.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets