This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Virat Kohli reveals why Chris Gayle, Sarfaraz Khan are not being picked in RCB side

New Delhi: Not often does someone with the batting talent of a Chris Gayle make it to the playing XI in a T20 match.

With 17 T20 tons on his resume, the big-hitting Jamaican is an absolute legend in the shortest format of cricket.

Yet he has not found place in Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore side of late.

Likewise, India U-19 star Sarfaraz Khan too has been missing from RCB's line-up.

Several fans were curious with regards to them being dropped from the side.

However on Saturday, skipper Kohli explained why this team's think tank has opted to not go in with the two players.

 “He wasn't rested. We chose Travis Head in place of him because we felt that we needed more solidity in the middle,” Virat said about Gayle's absence from the playing XI.

“Travis strikes the ball really well and KL (Rahul) and me are opening well for the team, and Travis can bowl off-spin as well in the middle if need be. Also, Travis was brought in as Pune boasted of three left-handed batsmen,” he further added.

The main reason behind relegating Sarfaraz to the bench appears to be due to his poor fitness.

"Sarfaraz understands the areas in which he needs to work on as far as the fitness and fielding part is concerned. You can't afford to have too many guys in the field who are not up to the mark with their fielding because the outfield here is lightning quick.

"I think Sachin is in that aspect is very committed and he is fit and he works on those things. Me as captain, I want to have a guy who gives 120 per cent on the field and saves some crucial five to six runs,” Virat said.

Gayle and Sarfaraz have so far played 3 and 5 games out of a possible 8 matches this term.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets