Why Kolkata Knight Riders' pacer Umesh Yadav wasn't taken off despite bowling two beamers in over

The 18th over of the RCB innings in particular was when Yadav came under severe punishment.

Last Updated: May 03, 2016, 16:24 PM IST
Why Kolkata Knight Riders' pacer Umesh Yadav wasn't taken off despite bowling two beamers in over

New Delhi: Match 30 of the Indian Premier League is one Kolkata Knight Riders pacer Umesh Yadav would want to forget in a hurry.

While his team emerged victorious, Yadav's performance was woeful. He ended up with figures of 4-0-56-1.

The 18th over of the RCB innings in particular was when Yadav came under severe punishment.

Left-hander Sachin Baby went after the India international with a vengeance, hitting two fours and a six off the last three deliveries in the over.

The 28-year-old also bowled a couple of waist-high beamers, which had several fans wondering as to why the umpires allowed him to continue.

The umpires had actually not ruled the first no-ball as dangerous and hence allowed him to finish the over.

Yadav's first beamer was wide and outside off-stump. Hence it wasn't considered as 'dangerous'. However, he was given his first warning for another beamer on the very next ball.

This is what the official rules state about the same.

“Should there be any further instance (where a high full pitched ball is bowled and is considered likely to inflict physical injury on the batsman) by the same bowler in that innings, the umpire shall in addition to calling and signaling no ball, when the ball is dead, direct the captain to take the bowler off forthwith.”

“If necessary, the over shall be completed by another bowler, who shall neither have bowled the previous over, or part thereof, nor be allowed to bowl the next over, or part thereof.”

Umesh's performance did not matter in the end as Yusuf Pathan and Andre Russell put on a 96-run stand to sink Virat Kohli's side.