Jadeja shines as five others hit tons in Buchi Babu meet

Chennai: Saurashtra all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja hogged the limelight on a day of when five other batsmen came up with century-plus knocks and two bowlers claimed five wickets in the final league stage of the BCCI All India Buchi Babu cricket tournament on Tuesday.

Batsmen who shone with the willow were K Dinesh Karthik (175, 168b, 16x4, 8x6) and K Shrivasudevadas (100, 97b, 11x4, 2x6) of TNCA President`s XI against Andhra.

Rajasthan`s Akash Chopra struck 142 off 179 balls against Vidharbha and Hyderabad openers Akshat Reddy (137,188b, 15x4, 4x6) and DB Ravi Teja (107, 216b, 6x4, 2x6) also slammed centuries, against TNCA XI.

Incidentally, the Hyderabad-TNCA match is vital for the two teams have earned 12 points each and the winner will make the semifinal.

The top finishers in each group will qualify for the last-four stages at the end of Wednesday’s play.

Baroda spinner Swapnil Singh claimed seven wickets conceding 88 runs against Mumbai while Karnataka`s KJ Goutham took five for 53 against Bengal.

Brief Scores:

TNCA President’s XI: 442 for 8 in 90 overs (M. Kaushik Gandhi 25, S Anirudha 30, S Badrinath 30, K Dinesh Karthik 175, K Shrivasudevadas 100, S Sureshkumar 40, P Amarnath 24 not out, Koteswara Rao 3/91, G Shankar Rao 3/148) versus Andhra and Maharashtra 294 for 9 in 90 overs Harshad Khadiwale 77, Rohit Motwani 38, Ankit Bawne 47, Nikhil Paradkar 41, Sangram Attitkar 38, Paresh Patel 3/ 53 and Soumnedra Das 2/42) versus Orissa.

Rajasthan 382 for 8 in 90 overs (Akash Chopra 142, Vineet Saxena 43, Robin Bisht 46, R.R. Parida 67, Hrishikesh Kanitkar 28, Ravi Jangid 2/107, Gaurav Upadhyay 2/79) versus Vidarbha and Mumbai 306 in 87.5 overs (Kausthub Pawar 84, Nikhil Patil 67, Prashanth Naik 56, Swapnil Singh 7/88) versus Baroda.

Bengal 238 in 84 overs ( Arindam Ghosh 53, Subhomoy Das 59, Sandipan Das 33, K J Goutham (offie) 5/53, Sunil N Raju 3/39) versus Karnataka 20 for one in 4 overs (Bharat Chipli batting 14) and Kerala 253 in 75.2 overs VA Jagadeesh 73, Rohan Prem 87, N Niaz 29, Ravindra Jadeja (las) eight for 87 and Saurashtra 23 no loss in 15 overs (Chirag Pathak batting 17).

Hyderabad 369 for six in 90 overs (Akshat Reddy 137, D.B. Ravi Teja 107, Abhinav Kumar 24, G H Vihari 34, Ahmed Quadri 37, Rahil S Shah 2/132 and Malolan Rangarajan 2/60) versus TNCA and Madhya Pradesh 177 for six in 74.5 overs (Shan-e-Alam 34, Sachin Dholpure 40, Rohan Srivatsava batting 59, Faizal Dudhat 2/54 and Mohnish Parmar 2/26) versus Gujarat.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link