Karnataka win by four wickets, earn full points

PTI| Updated: Dec 01, 2013, 20:07 PM IST

Cuttack: Abhimanyu Mithun and HS Sharath took five-wicket haul each as Karnataka got the better of Odisha by four wickets and earn full six points on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Group A match here on Sunday.

After Mithun (5/58) and Sharath (5/80) shared all 10 wickets between them to bundle Odisha all out for 279 in their second innings, Karnataka were required to chase down just 127 for victory, which they achieved comfortably.

Earlier, Karnataka had scored 379 in their first innings in reply to Odisha`s 226 in the first essay, thereby taking a solid 153-run lead. Resuming on 169 for four, Odisha lost overnight batsman Abhilash Mallick early. Mallick could just add just three more runs to his last night`s score of 47 to complete his half-century before he fell victim to Mithun.

His 50 came off 89 balls and it included six boundaries and a six. Mallick also shared an important 100-run stand with skipper Biplab Samantray for the fifth wicket. Samantray, having resumed on 50, went on to score a fine century and also put on two important partnerships with the tailenders.

He first stitched 50 runs with Alok Sahoo (21) for the seventh wicket and then coupled with Basant Mohanty (14 not out) to put on another 35 runs for the ninth wicket. But Samantray`s innings was cut shot by Sharath, who trapped the captain lbw. He departed for a well-made 215-ball 106, laced with 14 hits to the fence and two sixes.

Chasing a modest target, Karnataka batsmen reached 130 for six in 41.3 overs. Ganesh Satish top scored with 34, followed by Lokesh Rahul (29). For Odisha, Suryakant Pradhan (3/38) took three wickets, while Basant Mohanty (2/34) claimed two and Deepak Behera chipped in with one.

Brief scores:

Odisha: 226 & 279 all out (Biplab Samantray 106, Abhilash Mallick 50; Abhimanyu Mithun 5/58, HS Sharath 5/80).

Karnataka: 379 & 130 for six in 41.3 overs (Ganesh Satish 34, Lokesh Rahul 29; Suryakant Pradhan 3/38).