Know why Virat Kohli didn’t find a place in ICC ODI team

Zee Media Bureau/Manushree Chaumal

New Delhi: The coveted list of ICC Test and ODI teams is out. While Indian skipper MS Dhoni has been chosen to lead the ODI team, India’s top-scorer this year - Shikhar Dhawan finds a place as the opener. All rounder Ravindra Jadeja has also been placed at number 6. However, one is left to wonder why India’s star batsman Virat Kohli has no place in the ODI squad, despite his stupendous performance this season.

In the period under consideration for selection, August 7, 2012 to August 25, 2013, the Delhi batsman, who is often referred to as the bold new face of Indian cricket, has amassed 689 runs, including two tons, at an average of 40.52.

However, there are ten other batsmen who have scored higher than Kohli in this time span and even some of them are not in the squad.

Top scorers between 7-8-2012 to 25-8-2013 include:

Kumar Sangakkara (956 runs), Tillakaratne Dilshan has (928 runs), Pakistan’s skipper Misbah-ul-Haq (910 runs), Ian Bell (826 runs), AB de Villiers (819 runs), Hashim Amla (794 runs), Darren Bravo (775 runs), Jonathan Trott (725 runs), Nasir Jamshed (713 runs) and Shikhar Dhawan (707 runs).

However, mere runs have not been taken in account for inclusion of batsmen, other criteria include opposition, pitch conditions, match situation, etc.

While Shikhar Dhawan’s inclusion is justified as his tally of five ODI hundreds is the highest by any batsman this year, Jadeja meanwhile scalped 38 wickets in the year, second only to Saeed Ajmal who has 41 wickets to his credit.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson justified Kohli’s absence. Richardson, after announcing the ICC`s Test and ODI teams of 2013 at a media conference, mentioned, “Kohli is one of the players who should consider himself unlucky not to get selected, especially in the ODI team of the year. In these awards it`s more a case of who gets left out rather than who gets in. There`s tremendous competition for places."

If Kohli’s current form and consistency continue until the next list is out, the star batsman is sure to find a place in the list next year.

The ICC selection panel headed by Anil Kumble included former Pakistan fast bowler and captain Waqar Younis, former England captain and wicketkeeper Alec Stewart, former South Africa batsman Graeme Pollock, and former New Zealand women`s player Catherine Campbell.

ICC ODI Team (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL), 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ).

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link