Mani slams Pawar-led ICC for proposed change in policy

New Delhi: Former ICC chief Ehsan Mani on Monday slammed the Sharad Pawar-led world body for its reported move to do away with rotational policy in the appointment of its presidents after 2015, suggesting that India might have initiated it.

Reports said that ICC is planning to stop the rotation policy once the term of Pawar`s successor Alan Issac (New Zealand) is over in 2015. ICC is likely to deliberate on the proposal in its annual general meeting on June 28 in Hong Kong.

Pakistan and Bangladesh would lose out if the current rotational policy is done away with as the two countries are to present their nominees for the post of ICC president and vice-president. Both the two countries are reportedly opposed to the idea of scrapping the system.

Mani hinted that the change in rotational policy could be initiated by India so that somebody from India could "jump the queue" to the top post.

"I don`t know why the ICC wants to change it (the rotational policy). If it is going to be changed I want to ask who are the people behind this," said the former PCB official.

"Sharad Pawar`s term is ending next year. The question which can be asked is that if there is anything India want to jump the queue and an Indian getting the ICC president`s post," he added.

Nine out of 10 Test playing nations have reportedly signed on the ICC`s proposal to change the rotational policy and Mani termed it unusual.

"I can`t comment who signed for the proposal or not but it is very unusual. Normally, a proposal is forwarded to the president through the chief executive and then it is voted by the member countries. But here it seems the proposal has already been signed before the ICC Board meeting," said Mani who was ICC chief from 2003 to 2006.

Mani conceded that Pakistan has no chance of its turning the tables if nine member countries have agreed to change the rotational system as has been reported.

"You need vote by seven members to pass a resolution. So if nine members have already agreed to the proposal then it will be difficult for Pakistan," he told `Times Now`.

The rotational policy for the appointment of ICC president was at the centre of a major controversy last year when Australia and New Zealand`s nominee John Howard, a former Prime Minister, was rejected by the other Boards.

New Zealander Alan Isaac was chosen after a massive furore.

When the post of ICC president was first created in 1996, it was a rotation amongst Full Members, who would each have a turn in appointing the President.

The order commenced with India (Jagmohan Dalmiya), then Australia (Malcolm Gray), Pakistan (Ehsan Mani), South Africa (Percy Sonn).

In 2007, the post of vice-president was created and the system was tweaked to the current Vice President/President.

Though rotation stayed as a policy, nominations now came from pairs of countries: Australia-New Zealand, West Indies-England, India-Sri Lanka, Pakistan-Bangladesh and South Africa-Zimbabwe.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link