N Srinivasan re-elected as BCCI President; Ranjib Biswal appointed IPL chairman

Zee Media Bureau

Chennai: N Srinivasan was on Sunday re-elected unopposed as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) chief for third year in a row.

Sanjay Patel was elected Secretary while Haryana Cricket Association chief Anirudh Chaudhry was appointed Treasurer at the BCCI's AGM.

Five vice-presidents were also elected unopposed at the meeting.

Ranjib Biswal has been appointed as the new IPL Chairman. Amitabh Choudhary will lead the marketing committee of the cricket board.

Mathhew has been named National Cricket Academy Chairman while G Gangaraju will head finance committee of the BCCI.

Srinivasan, whose nomination was put forth by South Zone, was the lone Presidential candidate in the fray.

He had the full backing of all the six southern associations (Tamil Nadu CA, Andhra CA, Karnataka State CA, Kerala CA, Hyderabad CA and GOA CA) stood firmly behind Srinivasan, ruling out the possibility of any contest.

None of the influential voices in the BCCI, including some of the political luminaries, took a stand, made it a tad too easy for him.

Srinivasan, however, will know on Monday whether he can take charge only after the Supreme Court decides on a petition filed by the secretary of the Cricket Association of Bihar (CAB), Aditya Verma.

With PTI inputs

More to follow...

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link