New no-ball rule will come in effect from today: ICC

Last Updated: Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 22:37

London: The prestigious Marylebone Cricket Club today released the 5th edition of the 2000 Code which features some significant changes in cricket rule including the most high profile change in new `No-ball rule` which comes into effect from today.

According to Law 24.6 of ICC`s playing conditions, from now on if a bowler breaks the wicket during his delivery stride, it will be called `No Ball`.

The MCC Committee announced that the Law would be changed in February of this year and the ICC brought the ruling in as a playing regulation for the international summer.

Other changes to the Laws include limiting being out `Handled ball` to just the striker as he is playing the ball or immediately after; any other illegal handling of the ball by either batsman will be given out as Obstructing the field.

The MCC also launched a new set of animations aimed to help young players, novices and casual fans develop a greater understanding of the Laws of Cricket.

The animations, which have been released in English, Hindi and Urdu, focus on five of the more complex and misunderstood aspects of the Laws ? including LBW and running out the non-striker. It is the first time that the Club has portrayed the Laws in this way.

Notable changes in law

1) A new No ball Law (24.6) making it a No ball if the bowler breaks the wicket during his delivery stride.

2) A batsman with a runner is now protected if he is `stumped` off a No ball. Previously, he would have been out run out.

3) The moment at which a batsman can be out Handled the ball has been limited to when he is playing the ball or its immediate aftermath, i.E. When defending his wicket. Consequently, only the striker can be out this way. Any subsequent handling by either batsman will be subject to Obstructing the field.

4) Hit the ball twice, it is no longer possible to score any runs after making a lawful second strike (in defence of his wicket). Previously, runs could be taken after a lawful second strike only after an overthrow had occurred, but this option of run scoring has been removed completely.

5) Practice on the field ? players are now allowed to bowl a ball to a fielder as a `loosener`, even if it bounces on the ground, as long as it does not waste time or is not being done to damage the ball.

PTI



First Published: Tuesday, October 1, 2013 - 22:37

comments powered by Disqus