New Zealand announces two new Test caps for India tour

Wellington: Two new caps have been included in the New Zealand Test cricket squad to tour India next month.

Young Northern Districts batsman Kane Williamson and Canterbury fast bowler Hamish Bennett were named in a 15-strong squad today for the three Tests, the first starting at Ahmedabad on November 4, a New Zealand website reports.

Both were blooded into the national side for recent one-day assignments, with Williamson debuting for his country in Sri Lanka in August and Bennett making the step up to the international stage during New Zealand`s 0-4 one-day whitewash at the hands of Bangladesh this month.

Coach and selector Mark Greatbatch said both Bennett and Williamson deserved their selection in the Test squad after showing promise in Bangladesh, where Williamson scored his maiden one-day international century.

“Kane Williamson is an impressive young talent and his game continues to improve with his involvement in the national team, while Bennett did everything asked of him on the recent tour of Bangladesh and offers the side a genuine pace option,” Greatbatch said.

New Zealand are also to play five one-dayers against India, and a revised squad for those will be named closer to the opening game at Guwahati on November 28.

New Zealand Test squad: Brent Arnel, Hamish Bennett, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Andy McKay, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori (captain), BJ Watling and Kane Williamson.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link