Now OPL-II to begin from May 1

Updated: Mar 06, 2013, 13:43 PM IST

Cuttack: The second edition of the Odisha Premier League (OPL-II) cricket tournament will now begin on May 1 instead of next month, it was announced today.

According to Odisha Cricket Association (OCA), the much-awaited tournament, which was postposed till April 1, has been rescheduled.

"OPL-II is postponed as some of the prominent players of OCA will represent their respective units in the All India Railway Cricket Tournament from March 30 to April 10," OCA general secretary Asirbad Behera said.

After the inaugural edition of OPL in 2011, the popular shorter version of the cricket tournament could not be held in the following year due to lack of franchisee and sponsorships.

According to the rescheduling of OPL-II, the tournament will now begin on May 1 and matches will be played at two venues in Cuttack and Sambalpur.

The final match will be played at Barabati stadium here on May 12, Behera said.

This time eight teams will play in the tournament and the teams have been christened as Barabati, Dhauli, Konark, Chilika, Mahanadi, Baitarani, Rusikulya and Subarnarekha.

The teams would be placed in two groups and the teams would play double-league format matches at both the venues to identify the semifinalists, two top teams of each group. ?????The teams have been allowed to pick up 20 players, four each from five grades. At least 160 players, based on their performances will be placed in different grades.

Payment will be made to the players as per the gradation value in which a Grade A player will get Rs 50,000, Grade B-Rs 40,000, Grade C-Rs 30,000, Grade D-Rs 20,000 and Grade E player will get Rs 10,000, an OCA release said. ?????While the Champion team will pocket a cash prize of Rs three lakh, the runners up team will be richer by Rs two lakh and the third-placed team will get a cash prize of Rs one lakh.

The man of the match in each of the 28 matches will be awarded Rs 5000 and the man of the tournament will get Rs 25,000 cash prize.