Pakistan vs South Africa, 2nd ODI - As it happened...

Zee Media Bureau



Pakistan won the 2nd ODI against South Africa by 66 runs to level the series 1-1. While defending the small total of 209, Pakistan bowlers made sure that they bowl at a tight line and forced the South African batsmen to commit mistakes. Though all the Pakistani bowlers bowled magnificently but the pick among the bowlers was certainly Shahid Afridi, who scalped three wickets to turn around the tables in his teams favour.


South African Innings

Over 40.4|| Score 143

After Afridi, speedster Mohammad Irfan bowled exceptionally well in the mid overs. He first took the wicket of WD Parnell in the 35th over of the innings, who was looking dangerous on 21 and then sent back Morne Morkel in the 37th over. In the next over Ajmal picked up his second wicket in the form of Tsotsobe. At the end Afridi collected his third and South Africa's last wicket in the form of Imran Tahir to make sure that their team seal the match comfortably.

Imran Tahir st Umar Akmal b Shahid Afridi 3 (13m 11b)

LL Tsotsobe lbw b Saeed Ajmal 4 (4m 3b)

M Morkel b Mohammad Irfan 5 (11m 10b)

WD Parnell c Umar Akmal b Mohammad Irfan 21 (32m 22b)

Over 30|| Score 94/6

Misbah introduced Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi into the bowling attack in the 23rd over and he did not disappoint his skipper by providing a breakthrough in the very first ball he bowled. He trapped F du Plessis in front of the wicket. But Afridi did not stop here. In his second over he gave another blow to South Africa by taking the crucial wicket of AB de Villiers and broke the backbone of the Africa side. After a gap of few overs Mohammad Hafeez showed the pavilion way to DA Miller. With three quick wickets, Pakistan is right on top of the game. Now the South African team need 116 runs in 20 overs and they have just four wickets in hand.

DA Miller lbw b Mohammad Hafeez 11 (19b)

AB de Villiers c Umar Akmal b Shahid Afridi 10 (21b)

F du Plessis lbw b Shahid Afridi 12 (32b)

Over 20|| Score 62/3

While defending a small total of 209, so far Pakistani bowlers have managed to keep things under control. In the second over of the innings, Sohail Tanvir provided his team the first breakthrough in the form of C Ingram, who got out after scoring four runs. But then skipper Smith and JP Duminy added 48 runs for the second wicket. But two wickets in two consecutive overs, once again pushed South Africa on the back-foot. Pakistan still have to take wickets at regular intervals to keep the match alive.

JP Duminy c Mohammad Hafeez b Mohammad Irfan 25 (45b)

GC Smith b Saeed Ajmal 14 (35b)

CA Ingram b Sohail Tanvir 4 (4b)

Pakistan Innings

Over 49.4|| Score 209

Afridi tried to play some big shots but got out after scoring 26 runs in mere 20 balls. But in the death overs cameo by Wahab Riaz (18) made sure that Pakistani team at least cross the mark of 200 runs. Pakistan got all out at 206 and failed to play the full quota of their 50 overs. For South Africa R McLaren was the pick among the bowlers who took four wickets and gave just 34 runs in his stipulated ten overs. Apart from him Morne Morkel also scalped three wickets. Now if Pakistan want to seal this match to level the series 1-1, their bowlers have to take all ten wickets of South African batsmen, as they have put up a low-scoring total.

Wahab Riaz c du Plessis b Parnell 18 (24b)

Saeed Ajmal lbw b McLaren 0 (1b)

Shahid Afridi c Smith b Morkel 26 (20b)

Sohail Tanvir run out 9 (24b)

Over 40|| Score 155/6

Even after getting the starts no Pakistani batsmen managed to stand and deliver for the team, albeit only Ahmed Shehzad scored a fifty. But wickets at regular intervals don’t allowed Pakistani batsmen to play freely. After the end of 40 overs Pakistan are at 155 for six. At the moment Shahid Afridi and Sohail Tanvir are at the crease. Now the onus is on Afridi to take the teams score to a respectable stage.

Umar Amin c de Villiers b McLaren 14 (25b)

Umar Akmal c Ingram b Morkel 18 (32b)

Ahmed Shehzad c & b Imran Tahir 58 (85b)

Misbah-ul-Haq c Miller b McLaren 25 (44b)


Over 20|| Score 82/2

Pakistan lost their first wicket in the third over of the innings in the form of Nasir Jamshed. Off Morkel, Tsotsobe took a fine catch at fine leg boundary to sent Jamshed back to the hut. The opener only managed to score one run. After the fall of first wicket, Pakistani batsmen started playing more cautiously and managed to score just 40 runs in first ten overs. But then McLaren gave his team the second breakthrough in the form of Mohammad Hafeez, who got out after scoring 26 runs. And in the next ten overs Pakistan added another 42 runs to take their score to 82.

Mohammad Hafeez b McLaren 26 (32b)

Nasir Jamshed c Tsotsobe b Morkel 1 (7b)


Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and decided to bat.

Good news for Pakistan is that their opener Ahmed Shahzad, who scored 58 in Pakistan`s upset one-run loss in the first one-day in Sharjah on Wednesday, recovered from a wrist injury.

Both the teams are unchanged for this match.

The remaining matches will be played in Abu Dhabi (November 6 and 8) and Sharjah (November 11).

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Coiln Ingram, Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Graeme Smith, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link