Rain abandon match as Lanka, NZ share points

Zeecric Bureau

Dambulla: For the second continuous day, rain played spoil sport during fourth ODI of the tri-series between Sri Lanka and New Zealand causing match officials to abandon the match and reward both teams with one-point each.

At the time when weather God intervene the match, Sri Lanka was sitting in a good position at 203 for the loss of three wickets with Mahela Jayawardene and Chamara Silva occupying the crease.

Scott Styris was the most successful bowler from New Zealand claiming two wickets for 41 runs.

Sri Lanka started strong with openers Tilakratne Dilshan and Upal Tharanga posting a quick 50-run partnership but the 56 run first wicket partnership was broken by Kiwi pacer Tuffey as he got rid of Tharanga on 12.

Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara played a good hand of 40 but he was dismissed by Scott Styris who also got rid of Dilshan earlier in the innings.

Jayawardene and Silva then weaved a good partnership of 72 runs for the fourth wicket and was looking strong for late aggressive batting but heavy downpour foiled any chances of further match to be played.

Earlier, New Zealand captain Ross Taylor won the toss and elected to bowl first against Sri Lanka in their tri-nation ODI cricket series match here on Friday.

Persistent rain at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium on Thursday resulted in the abandonment of the Sri Lanka and New Zealand match.


Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (capt), Peter Ingram, B J Watling, Kane Williamson, Scott Styris, Jacob Oram, Gareth Hopkins, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Daryl Tuffey, Grant Elliott.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link