Rajasthan beat Vidarbha by three wickets

Updated: Feb 20, 2012, 21:34 PM IST

Nagpur: Wicketkeeper-batsman Dishant Yagnik scored a fifty as Rajasthan eked out a narrow three-wicket win over hosts Vidarbha in the Central Zone leg of Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday.

Electing to bat, Vidarbha folded for 206 in 46.5 overs, courtesy some good bowling by Raman Chahar (3/48), Gajendra Singh (3/37) and Vikrant Yadav (2/35).

Urvesh Patel was the top-scorer for Vidarbha with an innings of 72 off 105 balls studded with five boundaries at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

In reply, Rajasthan lost wickets at regular intervals but never looked threatened in their chase and managed to overhaul the target with three wickets and just five balls to spare.

Yagnik along with Robin Bisht (36) set the tempo, while middle-order pair of PR Yadav (44) and VA Deshpande (31) sealed the victory for Rajasthan.

Spinner SS Ruiker (2 for 31) was the pick of the home side bowlers.

Earlier, Urvesh played the role of the anchor and starred in three crucial partnerships along with opener Akshay Kolhar (32), Hamang Badani (28) and skipper RS Paradkar (34) to take Vidharbha to a decent score.

Urvesh made 51 with Kolhar, 56 with Badani and 57 with Paradkar en route to his well-made 72.

However, Rajasthan pacer Vikrant and Chaher and spinner Gajendra restricted the vidarbha batsmen by taking wickets at regular intervals.

Brief Score:

Vidarbha: 206 all out in 46.5 overs (A Kolhar 32, Urvesh Patel 72, Vikrant Yadav 2/35, R chahar 3/48, G Singh 3/37).

Rajasthan: 207 for seven in 49.1 overs. (D Yagnik 51, R Bisht 36, P Yadav 44; SS Ruiker 2/31.).