Ranji Trophy: Akshay Wakhare, Aditya Sarwate spin Vidarbha to 82-run win over Maharashtra

Maharashtra's were bundled out in 46.3 overs at Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground.

Ranji Trophy: Akshay Wakhare, Aditya Sarwate spin Vidarbha to 82-run win over Maharashtra

Nagpur: Spin duo of Akshay Wakhare (6/58) and Aditya Sarwate (4/74) combined to skittle out Maharashtra for 162 as Vidarbha notched up a 82-run win and grabbed six points from their Ranji Trophy Group A match here today.

Wakhare and Sarwate dished out brilliant spin bowling to derail Maharashtra's chase as they were bundled out in 46.3 overs at Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground.

Chasing 245 to win, Maharashtra resumed their second innings at 3 for 1 on the fourth and final day and opener Harshad Khadiwale produced a strokeful 55 which was studded with nine boundaries and one six.

Apart from Khadiwale, Ankit Bawne (23), Kedar Jadhav (28) and Rohit Motwani (28) were the other batsmen who could reach doubles figures but they could not capitalise on their scores as Wakhare and Sarwate wrecked havoc.

Overnight batsman Bawne was the first to be dismissed in the 13th over when he was caught by Wasim Jaffer off Wakhare, Khadiwale was sent packing next by Sarwate with Faiz Fazal taking the catch.

Shikant Mundhe (4), Jadhav and Chirag Khurana (9) then became the victim of Wakhare in the 24th, 28th over and 34th over, while Rahul Tripathi was trapped infrom of wicket by Sarwate as Maharashtra slipped to 135 for seven in the 37th over.

Akshay Darekar (2) and Anupam Sanklecha (1) then were removed by Sarwate and Wakhare in the 41st and 44th over, while skipper Rohit Motwani was the last batsman to be dismissed.

Brief Score:

Vidarbha 332 & 149

Maharashtra 237 & 162 in 46.3 overs (H Khadiwale 55; A Wakhare 6/58).

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link