Ranji Trophy: Karnataka take first-innings lead against Odisha

Karnataka secured first-innings lead against Odisha in their Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match.

Ranji Trophy: Karnataka take first-innings lead against Odisha

Mysore: Karnataka secured the first-innings lead after their batsmen guided the hosts to a solid 255 for three in their Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match against Odisha here on Sunday.

Robin Uthappa top-scored with an unbeaten 83 off 181 balls, while opener Mayank Agarwal struck 78 off 149 balls as Karnataka took a lead of 23 runs with seven wickets remaining at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground.

At stumps on day three, Karun Nair was giving Uthappa company on 52, which came off 130 deliveries.

Abhishek Reddy made 36 off 102 balls with the help of two fours and a six.

Resuming at overnight score of 16 for no loss, Karnataka lost Ravikumar Samarth for the addition of just three runs in the day's first over.

After Agarwal's departure with the team score reading 128 for three, Uthappa and Nair was involved in an unbeaten century stand, comfortably taking the team past the visiting side's total of 232 all out.

Uthappa hit seven fours and a six, while Nair found the fence thrice and cleared it once.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link