RCB crush MI; set final against Super Kings

Zeecric Bureau

Chennai: Chris Gayle’s explosive innings set up the platform for a sparkling entry into IPL 4 final for the Royal Challengers Bangalore as they beat Mumbai Indians by 43 runs.

After posting a mammoth total of 185/4, Challengers kept a tight bowling leash on the opposition to set the mouth watering final match. Mumbai Indians were off to a rickety start as the top order went with 68 runs on the board, leaving the steep task of scoring more than ten an over to the less explosive batsmen.

Scorecard: Mumbai Indians V Royal Challengers Bangalore»

It could not be as wickets tumbled at regular intervals for the Mumbai outfit and skipper Vettori (3/19) led by example to take his side in the final against defending champions Chennai.

Sachin Tendulkar (40) was good in his approach but he was stumped by AB de Villiers off Syed Mohammad’s turner. Aiden Blizzard (10) and Harbhajan Singh (13) could not make significant damage to help the cause.

In the first half, AB de Villiers (21*) had to keep it going after a solid platform was set for a big total by the openers. Pomersbach was the recipient of a shock out when Malinga plucked one out of thin air to see his back in the pavilion. Earlier, Virat Kohli was quick to fall at a score of eight runs while the scorecard had gone past the 150-run mark.

Gayle had made his claim to be the most dangerous batsman of the tournament with a massive 27-run first over, the most expensive opening over in IPL history to set the tempo for the high octane eliminator clash.

Riding high on IPL 4’s fastest fifty, Chris Gayle powered RCB post 100/0 at the end of 9 overs, giving headache to Sachin Tendulkar’s outfit that ran out of options against the onslaught of runs.

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Sachin Tendulkar(c), Aiden Blizzard, Ambati Rayudu(w), Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, James Franklin, Rajagopal Sathish, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Munaf Patel, Abu Nechim

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers(w), Saurabh Tiwary, Luke Pomersbach, Daniel Vettori(c), Zaheer Khan, Abhimanyu Mithun, Syed Mohammad Jamaluddin, Sreenath Aravind

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link