Red hot Eng tighten noose on Lanka

Gros Islet (St. Lucia): Sri Lanka lost their top three batsmen early in the innings as England bowlers backed by some terrific stuff in the field and tightened noose on their opponents.

Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat in their Twenty20 World Cup semifinal match against England here today.

Sri Lanka made only one change with Ajantha Mendis coming in for Thilan Thushara.

England also made only one change with Kevin Pietersen returning to the team in place of Ravi Bopara.

The Teams:

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt. & wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Angello Mathews, Thissara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis.

England: Paul Collingwood (capt.), Michael Lumb, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Michael Yardy, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link