Revolt in BCCI; Srinivasan all set to retain his top post

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: N Srinivasan is all set to extend his tenure for the third year in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as the president. He filed his nomination on Saturday. No other nominations were filed by the members from South Zone, which cleared the deck for Srinivasan.

But a revolt was evident in the BCCI when three vice presidents -- Arun Jaitely, Niranjan Shah, Sudhir Dabir - refused to extend their tenure, clearly due to the prevailing conditions of the board. That means the BCCI is likely to get three new VP’s from Noth, West and Central Zones.

If sources are to be believed then Dabir, the VP of the Central zone will be replaced by Rajiv Shukla.

Earlier, Cricket Association of Bihar (CAB) had filed a plea to stop a desperate Srinivasan from contesting the Board elections. But the SC had given a go-ahead to Srinivasan to contest the election.

With PTI Inputs

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link