Rookie trio to take top three spots for Oz against Lanka in MCG ODI

Sydney: Australia will use one-day debutants Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes and Usman Khawaja at the top order during the first ODI against Sri Lanka at the MCG on Friday, captain George Bailey confirmed.

Bailey will bat at No.4 and be followed by David Hussey, Glenn Maxwell and Brad Haddin, with bowlers Mitch Johnson, Xavier Doherty, Clint McKay, and Mitch Starc completing the Australian XI, reports. Steve Smith and Ben Cutting will be 12th and 13th men, with Bailey hinting the pair might get a chance in the second match in Adelaide on Sunday, it further reported.

Bailey said the uncapped top three all deserved their chance at the head of the new-look team, with Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, David Warner and the seemingly pensioned off Mike Hussey out of the squad. Bailey said the trio totally deserves their opportunity to make a case for themselves in the Australia tour as their domestic performances of late has been outstanding.