SA include spinner Tahir in 14-man squad for India ODI series

Cape Town: Pakistan-born leg-spinner Imran Tahir, who was recently granted South African citizenship, was on Thursday named in the squad for the ODI series against India, starting January 12.

In-form Jacques Kallis was not considered because of the rib injury he sustained in the third Test here while Mark Boucher still remains out of South Africa`s limited-overs plans.

Left-arm spinner Paul Harris, who played in all the three Tests against India, was dropped.

With Tahir`s inclusion, South Africa will have three spinners in the 14-man squad with Johan Botha and Faf du Plessis being the other two.

The first of the five-match ODI series starts in Durban on January 12.

South Africa Squad: Graeme Smith (C), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link