Sachin, Sehwag, Kapil in ICC all-time ODI squad

Updated: Jan 06, 2011, 00:12 AM IST

Zeecric Bureau
Dubai: Indian players dominated the ICC all-time ODI squad as cricket fans from almost 100 countries around the world chose Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Kapil Dev amongst shortlisted 48 players to feature in the dream squad.

Three players from Australia and India, two from the West Indies and one each from South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan have made the final dream 11 with another Aussie named as 12th man while the momentous "438" game between South Africa and Australia in Johannesburg in 2006 has been voted the best ODI yet.

Cricket fans from 97 countries cast almost 600,000 votes ICC website between 22 December and 2 January to make their views known as to who have been the best ODI players of the past 40 years in the key categories of opening batsmen, middle-order batsmen, wicketkeeper, spin bowlers and fast bowlers.

Tendulkar and Sehwag pipped six other contenders including their Indian counterpart Sourav Ganguly, Sri Lankan Sanath Jayasurya and Pakistan’s Saeed Anwar to form the opening pair of the coveted team.

India’s 1983 World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev too faced intense competition from other all-time greats but was chosen as the lone all-rounder defeating likes of Imran Khan, Richard Hadlee, Ian Bothom and Jacques Kallis.

Michael Bevan was named the 12th man of the squad as he received the most number of votes without being enough to make the would-be starting 11.

Apart from choosing the team, supporters had the chance to pick their favourite game from a choice of 10 memorable matches and they chose the unforgettable run-fest in Johannesburg`s famous Wanderers Stadium in March 2006. Batting first, Australia made a record 434-4 in 50 overs but Proteas chased the target and made a winning score of 438 with nine wickets down and one ball remaining.

The All-Time ODI Dream Team (as voted by visitors on ICC website) is:

Opening batsmen: Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (both India)

Middle order: Brian Lara, Viv Richards (both WI) and Ricky Ponting (Aus)

All-rounder: Kapil Dev (India)

Wicketkeeper: Adam Gilchrist (Aus)

Spinner: Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)

Fast bowlers: Wasim Akram (Pak), Glenn McGrath (Aus) and Allan Donald (SA)

12th man: Michael Bevan (Aus)