Sachin Tendulkar opts out; Jadeja, Pathan dropped

Zeenews Sports Bureau

New Delhi: The fit-again duo of opening batsman Virender Sehwag and pacer Zaheer Khan have returned to the Indian squad after missing the Asia Cup as India’s team for Sri Lanka tour was announced on Wednesday.

However, master blaster Sachin Tendulkar has again opted out of the ODI and T20 series.

Have your say: Is Sachin right in opting out of Lankan tour? »

MS Dhoni will continue to lead the 15-member side from which all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been dropped. Virat Kohli will be Dohi's deputy.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has been ignored again with the selectors deciding to go with offie R Ashwin, lefr-armer Pragyan Ojha and leggie Rahul Sharma.

Young batsmen Ajinkya Rahane, who did wonderfully well in the IPL 5, has found a place in the team which is selected keeping in mind the preparations for the T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka in October.

Bengal batsman Manoj Tiwari, who did not get a game in Australia and Asia Cup despite being in the squad, has been retained.

The pace department will be looked after by Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, both were rested for Asia Cup, Ashok Dinda and Vinay Kumar.

India squad: Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda, MS Dhoni (capt), Suresh Raina, Vinay Kumar, Rohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link