Sangakkara charged with level 2 offence for collision
Dambulla: There seems to be no respite for controversy-ridden Sri Lanka as the hosts were today involved in yet another unsavoury incident with skipper Kumar Sangakkara colliding with New Zealand all-rounder Nathan McCullum in a tri-series match here on Friday.
The incident happened in the 26.5 over, when after flicking a ball to fine-leg region, Sangakkara bumped into McCullum while trying to ground his bat to take his run.
The bowler didn’t like it and complained to the umpires, who reported it to the Match Referee and Sangakkara was charged with a level 2 offence for the incident.
Talking about the incident, former skipper Mahela Jayawardene said it was not done intentionally by Sangakkara as he was “blinded” when he took the run.
“It was not intentional. Sangakkara collided with a bowlers and the bowler complained to the umpire. But Sangakkara didn’t do it intentionally. He was blind when he took the run. Both the players spoke about it in the dressing room,” Jayawardene said.
This incident comes days after Sri Lanka were embroiled in a demoralising no-ball controversy in their second game against India on Monday.
Off-spinner Suraj Randiv was banned for one game by Sri Lanka Cricket for bowling a no-ball to Virender Sehwag at the fag end of the match to deprive the Indian opener his century.
Senior batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan docked of his entire match fee after local media reported that he coaxed Randiv to bowl the no-ball.
The SLC also reprimanded Sangakkara that no such incident should happen in future.
More from India
More from World
More from Sports
More from Entertaiment
- Letter to Arvind Kejriwal - `Don't embarrass India again, buy yourself a pair of shoes`
- When a professor sexually abused a girl in classroom; watch other students' reaction
- Indian woman rescued from German refugee camp returns home, thanks government
- Signs that prove Lord Hanuman is still alive
- Will wipe out BJP and Congress from the country: Akbaruddin Owaisi