SC to name new IPL spot-fixing probe panel today

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: The Supreme Court will today name a new three-member panel that will probe the IPL spot-fixing scandal.

It will also hear the PIL filed against BCCI president N Srinivasan by Cricket Association of Bihar (CAB) secretary Aditya Verma seeking to stop his return as the head of the Indian cricket board.

On Monday, the apex court had proposed the constitution of a new panel to conduct enquiry into the IPL spot-fixing scandal to be headed by former Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court Mukul Mudgal.

A bench of Justices A K Patnaik and J S Kehar also proposed the names of senior advocate and Additional Solicitor General N Nagehswar Rao and Assam Cricket Association member Nilay Dutta to be part of the panel.

According to reports, SC wants Srinivasan to stay away from discharging his duties as the chief of BCCI but if he stays away from the matters involving IPL, it may allow him to do so.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link