Sehwag, Tendulkar in contention at ICC awards on Wednesday

Bangalore: Senior Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar is in contention for three trophies while dashing opener Virender Sehwag could walk away with two in the ICC Annual awards to be presented here on Wednesday.

While Sehwag is vying for the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year, Tendulkar has been nominated in Test of the Year, Cricketer of the Year and People`s Choice awards.

The awards will also see the announcement and induction of this year`s ICC Cricket Hall of Fame nominees and India`s Bishan Bedi will receive his commemorative cap. Bedi was named in the original 55 inductees to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in association with FICA in 2009.

South Africa batsman AB de Villiers will don the musical hat with his band providing some of the entertainment in what will be a glittering celebration of the great performances of the past 12 months.

Based on the period between August 2009 and 2010, the ICC Awards take into account performances by players and officials. Up for grabs will be nine individual awards and three team honours with the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award as well as the World Test and ODI Teams of the Year also being announced, the ICC said in a statement.

The voting period includes such high-profile events as the ICC Men`s and Women`s World Twenty20 2010 in West Indies, the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 in South Africa and the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 2010 in the Netherlands, as well as several bilateral Test and ODI series.

The player awards are judged by a 25-person voting academy, which is entirely independent of the ICC. The process is monitored by independent auditors Ernst and Young.

This year`s awards will be attended by a variety of players and former greats of the game.

There will be several representatives from Team India as well as the visiting Australia squad along with other nominees including South African duo of Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers, Australia women`s team pair of Shelley Nitschke and Ellyse Perry as well as Sri Lanka`s Mahela Jayawardena and Angelo Matthews and many others.

De Villiers, who is nominated in two categories this year, ICC ODI Player of the Year and the LG People`s Choice Award, will perform to guests on the night with his singing partner Ampie du Preez.

The previous LG ICC Awards ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

Short-list of nominees:

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

Women`s Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (Eng), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Dale Steyn (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), AB de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (Aus)
Emerging Player: Umar Akmal (Pak), Steven Finn (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL), Tim Paine (Aus).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey, Mahela Jayawardena, Ryan McLaren, Brendon McCullum

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill, Simon Taufel

LG People`s Choice Award: Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardena (SL), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Andrew Strauss (Eng), AB de Villiers (SA)

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka,