Smith to lead Australia A in Africa

Updated: Jun 19, 2013, 15:36 PM IST

Melbourne: Cricket Australia`s (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) on Wednesday named a 15-man squad for Australia A`s tour to Africa in July and August.

All-rounder Steve Smith will lead the side, and right-hand bat Aaron Finch has been named as his deputy.

The side will play three four-day matches against Zimbabwe and South Africa A in July before the tri-series involving South Africa A and India A in August.

The Australian squad is: Steve Smith (Captain), Aaron Finch (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Fawad Ahmed, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Alex Doolan, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Gurinder Sandhu, Chadd Sayers.

Pat Cummins will travel with the squad as a development player.

Of the squad, national selector John Inverarity said: “This is a young squad with abundance of talent and all players will be pressing for higher honors. Steve Smith has been appointed captain and should gain a great deal of leadership experience from the tour.”