Sourav Ganguly becomes Bengal`s coaching committee chairman
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, August 23, 2013, 22:18
Sourav Ganguly becomes Bengal`s coaching committee chairmanKolkata: Former India captain Sourav Ganguly was on Friday made chairman of Bengal`s cricket coaching committee.

The former left-handed batsman will lead a five member panel that also includes Hiranmoy Chatterjee, Samir Dasgupta, Debabrata Das and Rupnath Roychowdhury, the CAB decided at its working committee meeting here today.

Ganguly had earlier chaired a star-studded cricket development committee that also included former Bengal greats like Ashok Malhotra and Arun Lal but the body hardly met as the members were preoccupied with their respective commitments.

"As of now there`s no need of cricket development committee, if need be, we will once again call the committee," CAB president Jagmohan Dalmiya said after the working committee meeting.

The primary objective of the coaching committee will be to oversee and conduct coaching camps to develop Bengal cricket.

Bengal had earlier announced Ashok Malhotra as the coach for the upcoming season.


First Published: Friday, August 23, 2013, 22:18

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in News