South Africa brings Mclaren for Test series against India

Johannesburg: South Africa have included all-rounder Ryan McLaren in their Test squad for the upcoming Test series against India, starting December 16 at Centurion.

McLaren is the only addition to the squad that played in the two-Test series against Pakistan in UAE, last month.

“We want to keep the squad together that played against Pakistan. McLaren has impressed in both formats of the domestic game played so far this season and has also come back into our thinking,” Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said in a statement.

McLaren made his Test debut in the final match against England in January this year.

Hudson said they are hoping that captain Graeme Smith and batting mainstay Hashim Amla would gain full fitness before the Test series.

“We are expecting both of them to be fit to take their places,” he said.

Smith had fractured the ring finger on his left hand while Amla had suffered a contusion to his left forearm while fielding during the Test series against Pakistan.

South Africa Squad: Graeme Smith (C), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Ashwell Prince, Dale Steyn and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.