Sri Lanka picks strong squad against Kiwis

Colombo: Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) selectors on Friday picked a strong 16-member squad for the limited overs series against New Zealand, starting November 10.

This is despite the tourists having one of the most depleted squads ever to tour the island since 1984.

New Zealand have rested both Brendon McCullum and Ross Taylor for the tour and the captain picked in place of McCullum, Kane Williamson was forced out due to an injury.

Pacer Kyle Mills will be captaining the Kiwis squad.

The only new face in the Sri Laka squad is 24-year-old allrounder Ashan Priyanjana, while left-handed opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne has been recalled after two years.

The two sides will play three ODIs and two Twenty20 Internationals from November 10-21.

The first two ODIs will be played at Hambantota and international cricket is set to return to Dambulla with the final encounter.

The T20s will be held at Kandy in Pallekele.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (ODI captain), Tilakratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardane, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ashan Priyanjana.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link