Sri Lanka`s T20 tourney to pick team for Champions League

Colombo: Sri Lankan cricket selectors on Wednesday named four teams comprising the cream of national cricketers to play in a new Twenty20 tournament with an aim of nominating a side to compete in the Champions League T20 to be held in India in September.

The new makeshift tournament has been announced in place of Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL), which will not take place this year due to non payment of guarantee fees by the respective franchises.

The seven franchises failed to meet the mid-July deadline to pay the guarantee money, Sri Lanka Cricket announced.

The four teams would be playing the tournament between August 10 and 17 and will feature all of national cricketers.

The teams are billed to be captained by the national Test and ODI captain Angelo Mathews, T20 captain Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanna and Lasith Malinga.

The top team will play in the Champions League.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link