Sri Lanka unveils new domestic cricket structure

Last Updated: Saturday, November 3, 2012 - 15:28

Colombo: After weeks of protests and deliberations, Sri Lanka Cricket and its premier clubs have structured a new formula for its domestic first-class games, SLC said on Saturday.

The new premier tournament involving three-day games will be the only first-class event in the island.

There will be a four-day final between the top teams of respective tiers.

The new format was struck after clubs protested vehemently against a move to restrict the tournament to just 10 teams.

The new domestic structure will come in to effect from the current season with a phased out implementation of the structure.

It is aimed at bridging the gap between international cricket and domestic cricket. In the new format the Tier A/B clubs will be amalgamated with a total of 20 teams participating.

The 20 teams will be divided into two groups according to the points earned in the preceding year`s tournament.

The top teams from each group will play the final.

There will be a relegation for the three bottom teams from each group, who will play in the tournament for emerging teams, which would be also a three-day event.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Saturday, November 3, 2012 - 15:28

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus