Team India for WI tour announced sans key players

Zeecric Bureau

Chennai: The Indian Test cricket team for the upcoming tour of West Indies was announced by the BCCI selection panel in a meeting in Chennai on Friday evening. Suresh Raina was named the ODI team’s captain while MS Dhoni is expected to join the team as skipper for the Test squad.

In the absence of key players like Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag and Ashish Nehra, rookies Shikhar Dhawan and Manoj Tiwari got a look-in.

Virat Kohli and Tamil Nadu batsman Abhinav Mukund earned themselves a Test cap as the new faces in the dressing room which will have VVS Laxman as vice-captain..

Senior player Harbhajan Singh was made the ODI team’s vice-captain. It was also confirmed that Sachin Tendulkar would not be a part of the playing eleven in the Test matches either.

Test Squad: MS Dhoni, VVS Laxman, Rahul Dravid, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Murali Vijay, S Badrinath, Abhinav Mukund, Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, S Sreesanth

ODI Squad: Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Parthiv Patel, Manoj Tiwari, Shikhar Dhawan, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Wridhiman Saha, Amit Mishra, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, R Ashwin, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, S Badrinath

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link