Sri Lanka

Last Updated: Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 17:47


The South-Asian heavyweights and semi-finalist of the last tournament, Sri Lanka surely stand a chance to inscribe their name on the trophy. And with the return of their star pacer, Lasith Malinga, after almost two years since last ODI, the team will look to earn some inspiration and motivation
Skipper Angelo Mathews has been named as the skipper after missing out on the South Africa series, earlier this year. Chamara Kapugedera too will mark a return, since being out of action since January 2016.
Apart from India, Sri Lanka is one other nation to have a stand-by player's list – Dilruwan Perera and Danushka Gunathilaka are the only two players. 

ICC ODI ranking: 7

Coach: Graham Ford

Sri Lanka ICC Champions Trophy 2017 squad: Angelo Mathews (C), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Chamara Kapugedera, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara, Nuwan Pradeep, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna

Players to watch out for: Angelo Matthews, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Lasith Malinga​

Best Performance: Winners in 2002 and Semi-finalists in 1998 and 2013