Last Updated: Friday, March 4, 2016 - 17:52

Zimbabwe World T20 squad

The Zimbabwean side received a major boost ahead of the ICC World T20 when two key members Tendai Chatara and Tinashe Panyangara were named in their squad.

Pacer Chatara was out injured for almost a year after he fractured his left leg in April 2015 and returned to competitive cricket earlier this year.

Having missed the team's recent tour to Bangladesh, Panyangara's recovery from a back injury is also good news for the minnows.

Hamilton Masakadza's side selected three spinners - Graeme Cremer, Tendai Chisoro and Wellington Masakadza - for the tournament. They have more options in part-time tweakers Sean Williams and Sikandar Raza.

In the pace bowling department, Zimbabwe have gone with Chatara, Panyangara, Luke Jongwe and Neville Madziva.

Skipper Masakadza will have to lead from the front in the batting department. The right-hander recently blasted an unbeaten 162, the second-highest individual score in T20 cricket.

While Zimbabwe are expected to struggle in India, cricket lovers would want them to at least put up a strong show to make matters more interesting.

ICC T20I Ranking: 13

Coach: Dav Whatmore

Zimbabwe ICC World Twenty20 squad: Hamilton Masakadza (c), Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Luke Jongwe, Tendai Chisoro, Neville Madziva, Malcolm Waller, Vusi Sibanda, Graeme Cremer; Donald Tiripano (stand-by).

Players to watch out for: Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder