Last Updated: Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 17:52

England World T20 squad

The pioneers of the Gentlemen's game haven't had luck on their title chase. The closest England had ever gone to the trophy was back in 2004. Since then each of their stride has failed to bore the fruit.
But England has picked themselves up since their humiliating group stage exit in 2015 World Cup. They have won five off six ODI series since February 2016. And this time England is hosting with a much stronger team. Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Chris Woakes are all in form and will be looking to grab the title on home soil.
While few are willing to bet on England, there is no doubt this young side boasts of the requisite firepower to upset the apple cart.

ICC ODI Ranking: 5

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

England ICC Champions Trophy squad: Eoin Morgan(c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Jos Buttler (wk), Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Players to watch out for: Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes

Best Performance: Runners up in 2004 and Semi-finalists in 2009