Trinidad & Tobago to play Ruhunu in CL T20 qualifying opener

New Delhi: The qualifying matches for this year`s Champions League Twenty20 will start with West Indian team Trinidad & Tobago taking on Sri Lanka`s Ruhunu on September 19 in Hyderabad.

"Each team will play two qualifying matches, and the top team in each Pool, along with the next highest ranked team (decided on Points, then Net Run Rate), will go through to the Group stage," the BCCI said in a statement.

The top team in Pool A will be designated Q1 in the group stage. The top team in Pool B will be designated Q2 in the. The next highest ranked team will be designated Q3 in the
group stage.

Kolkata Knight Riders, which finished third in the Indian Premier League, have been placed in qualifying pool A along with a yet to be announced English team and New Zealand`s Auckland Aces.

"Should Kolkata Knight Riders qualify through being the next highest ranked team, they will assume the Q1 position in the group stage, and the top team in Pool A will assume the Q3 position in the group stage," the statement said.

Qualifying Pool B comprises Trinidad and Tobago, a yet to be announced English team and Ruhunu. All the matches are scheduled to be held in Hyderabad.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link