Mumbai: New Zealand`s stand-in skipper Ross Taylor says the fielder`s word should be trusted in case of close catches after his side ended up on the receiving end of a controversial umpire decision.
Sri Lanka vice-captain Mahela Jayawardene and Kiwi off-spinner Nathan McCullum clashed during their World Cup match at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday. Jayawardene tried to play a defensive shot in the 24th over against McCullum but ended up chipping the ball back towards the bowler who dived and managed to get his right hand under the ball to cap a stunning effort.
But even as McCullum broke into a celebration, TV umpire Amish Saheba was called in and he ruled it not out. It was a critical moment in the match since Sri Lanka were struggling at 87 for 2 and Jayawardene was on 26.
"I haven`t seen the catch (on TV) I have seen it only live," said Taylor. "I thought it carried, but the third umpire obviously had other things (in mind). When you generally think that you have taken the catch, it`s your natural instinct. It is disappointing."
Taylor said it would make things easier if batsmen were to take the word of the fielder in such situations. "It depends upon the person. You look at (South Africa batsman) Jacques Kallis, he asks the fielders if they caught it cleanly and he trusts the words of the fielders. You put it up to the batsman to make the decision and at the end of the day you just hope the technology is right and if the technology is not right, well then don`t use it."
Jayawardene went on to make 66 and shared a vital 145-run stand with captain Kumar Sangakkara (111) to set up Sri Lanka`s comprehensive 112-run win in the day-night clash. Sangakkara, who was batting at the other end at that time, defended the veteran batsman. "Mahela said he was not sure about Nathan`s catch. We saw even in New Zealand innings when Mahela caught McCullum, it went upstairs. It can go either way," he said.