UAE to host Pakistan-Australia limited overs series

Updated: Jul 05, 2012, 23:21 PM IST

Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has scheduled its limited over matches series against Australia in the UAE with Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai to host a total of six matches.

The PCB in an official statement on Thursday announced the itinerary that sees the two teams playing from August 28 to September 10 before both fly off to Sri Lanka for the T20 World Cup.

"The UAE is the best possible and viable neutral venue for us as we have already hosted number of series there and it is also cost effective for us compared to other options," a board official said.

Australia has not played in Pakistan due to security issues since 1998 when Mark Taylor`s side last played a Test series in the country. Since 2009 when militants attacked the Sri Lanka team in Lahore test playing nations have refused to tour Pakistan.

The PCB had also considered Sri Lanka and Malaysia as possible venues to host the Australia series while Cricket Sri Lanka withdraw its offer to host the matches due to its premier league scheduled in August, Malaysia fell short due to shortage of international standard grounds and its monsoon season.

Australia`s Players Association had also expressed its reservations over playing 50-over matches in the UAE at a time of the year when the weather is very hot.

But the board official said the organizers had scheduled late start to the matches so that the players could avoid the day time heat.

Series Itinerary:

• Aug 28 -1st ODI (Sharjah)

• Aug 31- 2nd ODI (Abu Dhabi)

• Sept 3 - 3rd ODI (Sharjah)

• Sept 5 -1st Twenty20 (Dubai)

• Sept 7 - 2nd Twenty20 (Dubai)

• Sept 10 - 3rd Twenty20 (Dubai).