Virat Kohli is India's Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kohli, Mithali Raj named India's best cricketers for 2015.

Virat Kohli is India's Cricketer of the Year

New Delhi: Indian Test captain Virat Kohli was on Wednesday named the Cricketer of the Year by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India.

In a breakthrough year, the 27-year-old helped India to a series win in Sri Lanka after more than two decades. He then lead Team India to a thumping series win over number one ranked Test side, South Africa.

The Proteas entered the Freedom series as the best travelling team, without losing for nine years.

Kolhi took over as captain in the middle of the tour of Australia after Mahendra Singh Dhoni's sudden retirement.

The right-handed batsman also done well on personal front, scoring 640 runs in 15 Test innings at an average of 42.67. In 20 ODI matches in 2015, Kohli managed 623 runs at an average of 36.65.

He will be given the Polly Umrigar Award in the BCCI annual honours on January 5 in Mumbai.

In women's section, Mithali Raj -- who became the first Indian woman and second overall to complete 5,000 runs in ODI format this year -- was picked for the top award.

She will be presented with the M A Chidambaram Trophy for the best women's cricketer.

Former wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani will be presented the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

Karnataka State Cricket Association, despite their recent slump, has been chosen the state association of the year for achieving the treble of winning the Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy in the season.

Karnataka all-rounder Robin Uthappa has been picked for the Madhavrao Scindia Award for being the highest run-scorer in Ranji Trophy. Uthappa scored 912 runs in 11 matches, averaging 50.66.

The top wicket-taker's award is being shared this year by Karnataka's R Vinay Kumar and Mumbai's Shardul Thakur, both of whom scalped 48 in 2015.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link