West Indies vs India, 3rd Test, Day 1 - As it happened...

Jason Holder won the toss and opted to field first.

West Indies vs India, 3rd Test, Day 1 - As it happened...

New Delhi: Welcome to our live cricket blog for Day 1 of the 3rd Test between India and West Indies at Gros Islet. 


Over 90 || Score 235/5 (Ashwin 75; Saha 46)

An unbeaten 108-run stand between Ravichandran Ashwin and Wriddhiman Saha helped India cancel West Indies good start.

Over 80 || Score 188/5 (Ashwin 53; Saha 22)

India have increased the scoring rate even as Ravinchandran Ashwin got to his fifty.

The sixth-wicket stand has produced 62 runs for India.

New ball due for West Indies.

Over 70 || Score 163/5 (Ashwin 42; Saha 8)

Ravichandran Ashwin and Wriddhiman Saha showing true grit against an inspired West Indies attack. The sixth wicket stand now worth 37, off 123 balls.

Lucky for Ashwin. Earlier, he was saved by a no-ball from Roston Chase.

Over 58 || Score 138/5 (Ashwin 31; Saha 1)

After a long, long time India got a boundary thanks to Ravichandran Ashwin. He pulled the fifth ball of the 58th over, bowled by Roston Chase, over square leg.

Wriddhiman Saha is on 1, off 26 balls. India need major rebuilding here.

Over 50 | Score 126/5

Chase got the all-important wicket of Rahane. Saha walked out to bat.

Over 38 | Score 113/4

Ashwin and Rahane did a decent job of rebuilding India's innings.

Over 29 | Score 92/4

Rohit Sharma failed to fire yet again in whites. India in a spot of bother.

Over 23 | Score 87/3

The Windies bowled did an excellent job in that session. Holder and company will be satisfied at lunch.

Over 9 | Score 38/2

Joseph removed skipper Kohli. Rahane and Rahul attempt to rebuild Indian innings.

Over 4 | Score 12/1

Dhawan was sent back in to the hut Gabriel after scoring just 1 run.

India made three changes to the side that played in the 2nd Test.

IN: Rohit, Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar OUT: Pujara, Mishra, Yadav

Toss and team news

Jason Holder won the toss and opted to field first.

WI XI: K Brathwaite, L Johnson, DM Bravo, M Samuels, J Blackwood, R Chase, S Dowrich, J Holder, M Cummins, A Joseph, S Gabriel

IND XI: S Dhawan, L Rahul, RG Sharma, V Kohli, A Rahane, R Ashwin, W Saha, R Jadeja, I Sharma, M Shami, B Kumar