WICB refuses central contracts to Gayle, Bravo and Pollard

St John`s (Antigua): Former captain Chris Gayle and all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard have been denied central contracts by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) for 2011-12 season after the trio refused to accept them last year.

Lendl Simmons and Denesh Ramdin, who are both in the West Indies squad for the Test series in Bangladesh, have been excluded from the list of contracted players, while veteran campaigner Ramnaresh Sarwan, left-arm spinners Sulieman Benn and Nikita Miller, and batsmen Brendan Nash and Devon Smith have also been overlooked for the current season.

Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul and Marlon Samuels have been handed Grade B contracts for the first time. Rampaul has been upgraded to Grade B after having been on a Grade C contract last year.

The other player with a Grade B contract is captain Darren Sammy, who was at the same grade previously.

All players have signed their contracts, a statement from the WICB said.

Experienced batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul continues to be the only player with a Grade A contract as was the case in the previous contract year.

Players, who are on Grade C central retainer contracts for the first time, are Devendra Bishoo and Kirk Edwards. Leg-spinner Bishoo has been promoted to Grade C contracts from the development contract he received last year.

The full list of contracted players for 2011-2012 is:

Grade A: Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Grade B: Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels.

Grade C: Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Kirk Edwards, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell and Shane Shillingford.

Development Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Shannon Gabriel, Nelon Pascal, Kieran Powell and Devon Thomas.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link