Yousuf dropped; Pak selectors announce WC squad sans captain

Karachi: The national selectors have omitted senior batsman Mohammad Yousuf from the final 15-member World Cup squad of the Pakistan team which was announced without a captain.

Former captain Yousuf, a veteran of 90 Tests and 288 one-day internationals was named in the preliminary squad of 30 players for the World Cup.

But the selectors decided to show faith with youngster Asad Shafiq instead of Yousuf who was captaining the Lahore team in the ongoing national one-day championship in a bid to convince the selectors he was fit and in form for the tournament.

All the players who are presently touring New Zealand for the one-day series were named in the 15-member squad indicating that the selectors had faith in their ability to do well in the mega event that begins in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh from February 19.

But the decision to not name the captain for the World Cup although Shahid Afridi has led the team in T20 and One-day internationals since last year and is also presently captain for the series in New Zealand, indicates that Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq remains a strong choice to also lead the one-day squad.

Pakistan squad: Muhammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Abdul Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir.