Zimbabwe aim another upset, wounded Lankans seek revival

Bulawayo: Flying high after the upset win over India, minnows Zimbabwe will look to spring another surprise when they take on Sri Lanka in the third ODI of the cricket tri-series here tomorrow.

Both the sides have played a match each -- against India -- and have contrasting results to show going into tomorrow`s game.

While Zimbabwe stunned India with a six-wicket triumph, the Lankans suffered a seven-wicket loss yesterday.

The contrast is evident in the batting line-ups of both the sides as well. While Sri Lanka`s batting, barring skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan and Angelo Mathews, was largely lackluster against India, the Zimbabweans chased down a rather stiff 285 with consummate ease.

Without regular stars like Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Sanath Jayasuriya, Sri Lanka`s bating looked brittle against India and three run-outs didn`t help their cause either.

And if the Lankans have to avoid the embarrassment that India endured, their batting would be crucial and the likes of Thilan Samaraweera and Upul Tharanga will have to strike form.

On the bowling front, the Lankans have a decent line-up with Nuwan Kulasekara and Dilhara Fernando heading the pace department although the latter leaked too many runs against India.

Ajantha Mendis spearheads the spin attack but was a tad too expensive against India.

The Zimbabweans, on the other hand, had good day with the bat against India. Craig Ervin and Brendon Taylor notched up half centuries while the rest of the top half also made important contributions to the successful chase.

The bowling, however, was lackluster. As many as seven bowlers were used against India but only two of them were among the wickets, that too after giving away far too many runs.


Sri Lanka squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice capt), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thissira Perera.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (capt), Andy Blignaut, Chamu Chibhabha, Charles Coventry, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Greg Lamb, Hamilton Masakadza, Chris Mpofu, Ray Price, Ed Rainsford, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link