17 players sign contract with AIFF

New Delhi: Seventeen national footballers
today signed contracts with the AIFF with the players, who
recently struck deals with new clubs with increased pay
packages after the I-League season, getting almost the new
amount while others got 15 per cent hike to their existing

The arrangement would mean that players like Steven Dias
and Mohammad Rafi, who signed new contracts with Churchill
Brothers, will get the same amount as their new salary. They
were reportedly getting lesser amount from their former club
Mahindra United as compared to other top players.

The AIFF had proposed 15 per cent hike in the existing
(2009-10 season) salary of select 30 players on pro-rata basis
for eight months (June to January, 2011). They will train
under national coach Bob Houghton exclusively for January 7-29
Asian Cup in Doha, Qatar.

Another 10 players are expected to sign their contracts
tomorrow while Sunil Chhetri, Gouramangi Singh and Subroto
Paul`s case could be taken up later.

Chhetri is now with Major League Soccer side Kansas City
Wizards while Gourmanagi and Subroto are leaving for Australia
and Canada respectively for trials.

"17 players today signed their contracts today and 10
more will sign tomorrow. Those who have got new contracts
(after 2009-10 I-League season) will get the amount they will
get under their new deals. Those who do not have new contracts
will get 15 per cent hike in their old salary," AIFF
vice-president Subroto Dutta, one of the four officials, who
handled the contract issue, told reporters.

"There was also no gradation in the salary among the
players. All the players are happy and satisfied," he added.

AIFF Executive Committee members Larsing Ming and Joaqium
Alemao and general secretary Alberto Colaco were the other
three officials.

National captain Bhaichung Bhutia said the players were
satisfied with their contract and patted the AIFF for taking
the initiative to sort out the tricky issue.

"I can`t speak for all the players. But from what I can
understand most of the players are happy. It is a good sign
that the AIFF was trying to see that no player is in loss," he

Another senior player Renedy Singh was also happy that
the contract has been signed to pave the way for preparations
of the Asian Cup.

"I am happy that the contract has been signed and I have
no issues," he said.

Renedy said there would be a 10-day window next February
for those players who do not have contracts now.
Steven Dias said he had not thought that he would get
almost the same amount he would be getting under the new
contract with Churchill.

"The amount is not exactly what I will be getting from
Churchill but I am really happy with my contract. I had not
thought that I would be getting this much amount from the
AIFF," Dias said.

Besides Bhaichung, Renedy and Dias, those who signed
contract today were NP Pradeep, Subhashish Roy Chowdhury,
Mohammed Rafi, Govin Moirangthem, N Mohanraj, Mahesh Gawli,
Climax Lawrence, Sameer Naik, Anthony Pereira, Clifford
Miranda, Anwar Ali, Surkumar Singh, NS Manju and Dipak Mondal.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link