Bayern names first team players for Bhaichung farewell match

New Delhi: Top German football club Bayern Munich on Wednesday announced a 24-member squad for the Bhaichung Bhutia farewell exhibition match against India XI here on January 10 with all the first team players being named.

German World Cup captain Philip Lahm, who will lead the Bayern side, 20110 FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winner Thomas Muller, star striker Mario Gomez, midfield general Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben and Bastian Schweinsteiger were among the 24 players named.

All the 24 players named were in the Bayern Munich side playing in the current Bundesliga season.

Meanwhile, Indian football coach Savio Medeira today named a 23-member squad for the exhibition match to be played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.

The team, to be led by Bhaichung, will miss the services of striker Sunil Chhetri as he is recovering from an ankle injury.

Defender Mahesh Gawli, who on Monday announced retirement from international football, was not named in the squad, just like his Dempo team-mate Anthony Pereira.

Winger Steven Dias, who was carrying a niggle during the SAFF Championships here earlier this month, was also omitted.

The 23 players have been asked to report for a camp here on January 7.

The Squads:

FC Bayern Munich

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Jorg Butt, Maximilian Riedmuller, Rouven Sattelmaier.

Defenders: Holger Badstuber, Jerome Boateng, Breno Borges, Diego Contento, Philipp Lahm, Daniel Van Buyten, Marcio Rafael Ferreira de Souza (Rafinha).

Midfielders: Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Takashi Usami, Danijel Pranjic, Luiz Gustavo, David Alaba, Toni Kroos, Anatoliy Tymoshchuk.

Forwards: Mario Gomez, Thomas Muller, Nils Petersen, Ivica Olic.

Coach: Jupp Heynckes.

India XI

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Felix

Defenders: Jaspal Singh, Sameer Naik, Gouramangi Singh, Govin Singh, Nirmal Chhetri, Syed Rahim Nabi, Adil Khan, Gurjinder Singh

Midfielders: Reisangmi Vashum, Jewel Raja Shaikh, Climax Lawrence, Rakesh Masih, Baldeep Singh, Clifford Miranda, Lalrindika Ralte, Rocus Lamare

Forwards: Jeje Lalpeklua, Bhaichung Bhutia, Sushil Singh, CS Sabeeth.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link