Bhutia dropped from India`s World Cup qualifier probables

New Delhi: Star striker Bhaichung Bhutia was on Thursday omitted from the 42 probables named by the AIFF for a training camp starting here from June 25 for India`s World Cup Football Qualifier against UAE in July.

With Dempo coach Armando Colaco taking charge of the team after Englishman Bob Houghton`s sacking, the AIFF on Thursday dropped as many as 13 senior players who were part of the 23 member squad for the Asian Cup in Qatar early this year.

Most of the youngsters, who were part of the 2012 AFC Challenge Cup qualifying tournament in Malaysia, got themselves named in the probables` list.

Besides Bhutia, who played in the I-League second division for United Sikkim, other senior players dropped are defenders Surkumar Singh, Anwar Ali, Deepak Mondal and N S Manju, midfielders Renedy Singh, N P Pradeep and Mehrajuddin Wadoo and strikers Abhishek Yadav and Mohammed Rafi.

Former India number one goalkeeper Sandip Nandy found himself among the campers at the age of 36 along with current top goalie Subrata Paul.

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, who was taken to Qatar in the Asian Cup as third goalkeeper, was left out while his Indian Arrows team-mate Jagroop Singh made the cut. Dempo goalkeeper and India reserve Subhashish Roy Chowdhury was also omitted.

Veteran Dempo defenders Mahesh Gawli and Sameer Naik made it to the probables` list. The likes of young Indian Arrows skipper Raju Gaikwad and another Dempo defender Debabrata Roy also made it to the list.

India`s Asian Cup captain Climax Lawrence and his Dempo team-mate Clifford Miranda found place among the probables while East Bengal`s Mehtab Hossain and Salgaocar`s Gilbert Oliviera were named among midfielders.

The Probables: Goalkeepers: Subrata Pal, Jagroop Singh, Sandip Nandy, Karanjit Singh, Laxmikant Kattimani.

Defenders: Gourmangi Singh, Denzel Franco, Robert Lalthlamuana, Rowilson Rodrigues, Thokchom Naoba Singh, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Eknath Gaikwad, Valleriano Rebello, Debabrata Roy, Sameer Naik, Mahesh Gawli, Mohanraj, Rakesh Masih.

Midfielders: Mehtab Hossain, Syed Rahim Nabi, Harmanjot Khabra, Steven Dias, Jewel Raja, Khagembam Jibon Singh, Shilton D`Silva, Lalrindika Ralte, Gilbert Oliviera, Francis Fernandes, Anthony Barbosa, Rocus Lamare, Baldeep Singh, Khangembam Singh, Peter Carvalho, Climax Lawrence, Clifford Miranda, Xavier Vijay Kumar.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Joaquim Abranches, CS Sabeeth, Anil Kumar, Sushil Kumar Singh.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link