Cash awards for winner Bengal

Updated: Aug 08, 2010, 21:30 PM IST

Kolkata: Having ended an 11-year agonizing wait to win the national title for Santosh Trophy, it was raining cash awards for the triumphant Bengal side.

West Bengal Sports Minister, Kanti Ganguly announced a cash award of Rs 5 lakh for the Snehashish Chakraborty captained side.

I League club Chirag United SC also announced Rs 5 lakh to the 30 time champions Bengal side who had last won the Santosh Trophy in 1999 in Chennai.

It was Chirag United`s midfielder Denson Devadas who scored the two decisive goals to help Bengal come back from a goal deficit and score the victory.

The hosts Indian Football Association also announced a cash award of Rs 2 lakh for Bengal after their 2-1 win over Punjab in the final at Yuba Bharati Krirangan here on Sunday.

This apart, the triumphant Bengal side received Rs 5 lakh from the AIFF while runners up Punjab had to be content with a prize purse of Rs 3 lakh.