Chirag United set sight to script history

Kolkata: Chirag United will eye to script
history when they take on Mohun Bagan in the title decider of
the Calcutta Football League (Premier Division) at Yuba
Bharati Krirangan here on Tuesday.

The coveted CFL has a history of total dominance by the
giants East Bengal (31 titles) and Mohun Bagan (28 titles),
while it was only once in 1958 that a rank outsider Eastern
Railway bagged the title.

Locked with Mohun Bagan at 36 points and ahead on goal
difference, Chirag United just need a draw -- one point -- to
deny the green-and-maroon brigade of yet another title.

Such has been the importance of the title for Chirag
United that the team think-tank buried their differences with
Subrata Bhattacharya and brought him again as coach ahead of
the final round league clash.

"We are out of title contention in the I-League, but our
target is now on the Kolkata league and he (Bhattacharya) is
the best person for the job," club chairman Kaustuv Roy said.

Chirag United will once again bank on Brazilian Joshimar
who has been in superb form. He pairs up with compatriot
Edmilson upfront.

Mohun Bagan, on the other hand, will look forward to
their old turks, Jose Barreto and Edeh Chidi, to cast their
magic in what appears to be a tough contest.

Bagan coach Biswajit Bhattacharya conceded that their
opponents have an advantage.

"But we will give our best, we have to win at any cost,"
he said.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link