Copa Libertadores: Eight champions to play round of 16

Updated: Apr 20, 2013, 15:29 PM IST

Buenos Aires: Eight teams qualified for the round of 16 of Copa Libertadores, a football tournament organised by the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol), and will play against one another beginning April 24.

Argentina`s Boca Juniors, winner of six Copa Libertadores (1977, 1978, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2007) will face Brazil`s Corinthians.

Other Argentine teams Newell and Velez Sarsfield will face each other and only one will qualify for the next round, while Tigre will play against Paraguay`s Olimpia.

Peru`s Real Garcilaso will face Uruguay`s Nacional, a strong team of the region.

The only match which will not be played between a Copa Libertadores` champion will be between Brazil`s Fluminense and Ecuador`s Emelec.

Following is the match schedule:

April 24: Real Garcilaso (Peru) - Nacional (Uruguay).

April 25: Newell`s (Argentina) - Velez (Argentina).

April 25: Tijuana (Mexico) - Palmeiras (Brazil).

April 30: Tigre (Argentina) - Olimpia (Paraguay).

May 1st : Boca (Argentina) - Corinthians (Brazil).

May 1st : San Pablo (Brazil) - Atletico Mineiro (Brazil).

May 2: Emelec (Ecuador) - Fluminense (Brazil).

May 2: Gremio (Brazil) - Independiente Santa Fe (Colombia)